Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri – Animacsoft 101 Review

Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri – Animacsoft 101 Review

At exactly 12 midnight, I feel drowsy while writing this review. I don’t know but I feel exhausted to write down all my thoughts after I watched the anime earlier. Right now, I will be giving my own insights regarding with the anime that I have watched earlier. So without further ado, let’s get started…
A few days ago, I’ve posted on my fan page that GATE S1 is one of the best anime in 2015, not because I fancy with fantasy nor gore genre but because I got hooked on the story. The development of characters is well portrayed. In fact, I have my own favorite character in the show. She’s Rory-Sama! ❤ Well anyway, GATE S1 may not be good for you because of a bored scene and lots of chitchats (I guess so?). However, I can assure you, you would enjoy GATE anime drastically. I swear.
As I said, GATE S1 is one of promising anime. If you watch the first season, you would feel the same way.

Anime: Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri (Gate – Thus the JSDF Fought There)

Genres: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Military

Studio: A-1 Pictures

Aired: Jul 4, 2015 to Sep 19, 2015

Overall score: 9.02

Plot

When GATE appears in Ginza, Toyko. A plenty of Troops of knights, orcs, dragons, and other fantasy creatures attacked the city. The gate acts as a rift into a parallel dimension. Youji Itami was in the city and witnessed as how they destroyed the entire city. The government sends a small group of soldiers from the Japanese Self-Defense Forces to the alternate world beyond the gate. Led by otaku soldier Yōji, they find that the villages in the world are being attacked by a dragon. An elf girl who is a survivor from the dragon’s rampage joins the group in their travels across the dangerous new world.

Story (9.0)
The story of GATE S1 is greatly enjoyed. You guys should know this. The fact its fantasy and military genre. You would expect some gore scenes in the show. Especially, how Rory killed badass people. It may not be a unique story as what others anime have. But you would use to love the show. I mean, you would see dragons, night, elf, grim reaper and mages which help the show to be fascinated. GATE is similar to Outbreak Company, where members of the JSDF venture into a fantasy world to build relations. Here comes ITAMI an avid otaku whose in charge of the operation venturing in another world. He never declines whatever request hurled against him. Oh! I forgot. Harem is included in this show.  Every girl in the series seems to link to him. Nonetheless, I am not into in Military genre, what I have supposed to mean is that I don’t much like military genres. But this show, proves to me.

Characters (8.9)
The characters of GATE S1 are quite impressive. And to tell you honestly, I have my own favorite character in the show, she’s RORY. The staff of the show never fails me to commend them. They opted a right voice actors and actresses in the show. Shocks! I got hooked with RORY. I love the voice actress behind Rory’s voice. And all characters are indeed commendable. They well portrayed and the flaws of some characters are shown but never bumps me at all. I’ve noticed the roles given to them has nothing special. I mean, elf, mage, grim reaper etc. was just common roles. However, that doesn’t change my score to this section, my score is irrevocable.

Animations (9.0):
When it comes to animation, GATE anime got topped it. The art style is acceptable to the audience. The art has been perfectly drawn with a lit bit of different style to makes more realistic. Some scenes were being formed up by color. A-1 Pictures definitely did a great job!

Sample Screenshots:

Music/Sound (9.2)
Both Ending and Opening Theme Songs are stupendous. This may be the reason why this show shines through. Kishida Kyoudan & Akeboshi Rockets were an amazing band. They sang the opening song of the show entitled “Sore wa Akatsuki no you ni”. It was good and lively. It really fits in the show. The sounds were not irritating to the ears of the viewers. On the other hand, Nao Tōyama, Hisako Kanemoto, & Risa Taneda whom sung the end song entitled “Prism Communicate” was completely different. You can easily catch up the lyrics. And it reminds me the song of Pichi Pichi Mermaid Melody wherein seven mermaids sang together.

OPENING THEME SONG

ENDING THEME SONG

Enjoyment(9.0)

If you notice from my previous review, I don’t include this category to judge an anime, but because I can’t decide on it. So, now, I have to include the enjoyment category. Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri is quite fun. If you’re into political or military affairs you may find this more enjoyable than others. You gain some political views against modern and old economic problem.
Conclusion:
The first season of GATE was undeniably exciting. As you go deeper, you would use to love the anime. Although I wasn’t satisfied with the ending of the story, It is still a good show that everyone needs to watch. The show gives more time to explore political, economics and  philosophical. And as I expected. The second season of GATE is currently airing now. It will be a blast story which covers the Fire Dragon Arc.

Leave a comment